about us

Iredell county democratic party

As the oldest continuous political party in the world, the Democratic Party has carried out its commitment to freedom, fairness, human rights, and responsible government for over 200 years. We pledge to continue this tradition.


We take pride in our Democratic heritage as a party of spiritual and patriotic values; a party of inclusiveness; a party of diversity; a party of compassion; a party of educational and economic opportunities; a party of social justice; and a party of responsible leadership.


We provide an avenue for the free and open expression of diverse ideas and opinions, including the right of every person to dissent, and we shall work to promote government which is responsive to the legitimate needs, interests, and aspirations of every man, woman, and child in a manner which does not diminish human dignity or those fundamental rights, which are the birthright of all people of a free and democratic nation.


We, as North Carolina Democrats, seize this agenda, and vigilantly defend our historic Democratic heritage. We shall not abdicate our historic role as the Party of action and the Party of progress in this State. The lives and the livelihoods of the people of this State are our sacred trust. We must act decisively; we must act swiftly; we must act together.

County Leadership

Chair – Beth Kendall

Beth grew up in rural Wilkes County and then went to UNC Chapel Hill for her undergraduate degree and then Methodist University in Fayetteville for Physician Assistant School. She currently works in urgent care, as a PA, at various offices around the greater Charlotte region. Beth lives in southeastern Iredell County with her husband Nick, stepchildren Jack and Claire, and two golden retrievers, Miles and Clifford. Beth is an avid runner and CrossFitter, and she has finished 27 marathons.

Beth was the Democratic Candidate for Iredell County Commissioner in 2018. She is passionate about electing democrats.

First Vice Chair – Douglas Reed

Douglas grew up in St. Louis Missouri. He left St. Louis and attended Murray State University where he received a bachelor’s degree in Accounting. He moved to Iredell County when Lowe’s corporate office came calling. He currently works for Cataler North America in Lincolnton. Douglas loves relaxing and following the St. Louis Cardinals baseball team. Douglas has lived in Iredell county with his wife since 2008.

Second Vice Chair – Clay Pittman

Clay is a native of Winston-Salem, North Carolina.  He became active in Democratic politics in the College Democrats at NC State University, where he met his wife Sarah Pittman (née Parker) . Clay has worked in Communications for the North Carolina Democratic Party, and managed the campaign of Ernie Ward for the North Carolina Senate. He is particularly passionate about environmental justice and fighting wealth inequality.

Clay is a criminal defense attorney with the Parker Law Offices. He and Sarah live in Statesville with their son Miles, and dog Beasley.

Third Vice Chair – Gretchen McLean

Gretchen McLean is a Mooresville native.  She has two grown children, Carson and Maclean.  Gretchen is an Air Force Veteran, a graduate of Montreat College with a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration, and is currently an Executive Assistant for a software company based in New York and works from home.  

Gretchen has been active in politics since volunteering for Democratic candidates as a Senior in High School.  She is an avid reader who enjoys spending time with her family and friends and relaxes by cuddling with her cat, Molly.  


Treasurer – Allen Edwards

Allen R. Edwards is a native of Union County, North Carolina.  He attended public school and earned degrees from UNC-Chapel Hill and the UNC School of Medicine.  He has practiced occupational medicine for over 30 years. He and his wife, Susan, live on the Catawba River in western Iredell County with their miniature dachshund, Gracie.  

Dr. Edwards was the Democratic candidate for North Carolina House District 84 in the 2018 election.

Secretary – Becky Houck